i believe in you: a great recipe

Dear Readers,

The stereo in my living room corner sits on top of my amp. Right now I’m playing Luscious Jackson, the Ladyfingers album. It’s got a warm subversity to it, I used to jam to all the time when I lived in Austin. It was perfect for the spaced out heat of Austin. Downtown, 6th street. A strip where the armed services meets sleepy sharp philosopher collides with the neo-con, techie, and the new, ultra-hip.

“I’ve got lady fingers baby, I’ve got kid gloves baby, I’ve got heart, I’ve got heart.” And they’re right, Luscious Jackson has mad heart.

My day (plus recipe bonus):

I was up in an Indian Cinema class today at NYU. The film was devastating and crucial and Bengali. It had to do with a young woman who sacrifices everything for a family who wouldn’t sacrifice shit for her. Gave me the creeps. Or maybe it was the sterile classroom atmosphere, a bunch of non-South Asian, “South Asianists” picking apart the South Asian family in film. Christ.

But I went to Trader Joe’s after and that lightened my mood considerably. I love shopping at TJ, even with the crazy Union Square crowds. Reminds me of Cali, and I miss the Bay Area. Which is why I’m siked that my Bay Area hip hop poster is finally framed on the wall. 2Pac, 2 Short, San Quen, Heiro, Mac Dre and so many more, wrapped in the colors of every rainbow. I love my home.

Bonus Recipe:

Came home and whipped up an incredible, quick, healthy, mouth watering dinner. Main ingredients: colorful greens, sliced baby portobello mushrooms, sugar snap peas (whole), and tofu. Plus coconut milk (fuck the lowfat kind) and peanut butter (I used Jiffy, extra crunchy).

Start with a non stick pan on medium heat, a splash of olive oil, chop in a clove of garlic (I bought a container of pre-peeled garlic cloves at a local bodega, so worth it). Next, add the tofu, I cubed in about a third of the basic “firm” pack. Add the veggies. Add some coconut milk, I used a third of the can. A bit of MSG free soy sauce and/or salt to taste. Some hot red pepper flakes. And a half a spoon of peanut butter. Stir.

Melt. It’s that good.

I was read todays Times all mashed up on the subway on my way to NYU. The Tampa Bay Rays made it to the World Series. How dope!

Supposedly, Sarah Palin’s Saturday Night Live appearance rocked the viewer charts, 14 million, more hits than the shows gotten since 1994. The article said Palin deepened her mark as a great entertainer, though not a great potential president. And I wonder. I walk around NYC and I keep seeing Guitar Hero for sale. And I wonder.

What would it take for everyone to be the artist they wanted to be? What would it take for me to be the artist I most want to be. I’m willing to find out if you are.

I’m back on Thursday, come visit then.

Peace,

roopa “back to full time teaching schedule” singh

2 thoughts on “i believe in you: a great recipe

  1. Peter says:

    Me, I just wonder why my friends who have real guitars hung em up and bought a game version instead.
    Its the same fast fix we all want these days. The one that supposedly numbs, quiets. Wondering when the Xbox 360 comes out with “Binky Hero”.

    don’t dig down on low fat coconut milk. I prefer my saturated fat in a stack of cookies, not a tb of cm.

  2. Pricelis says:

    i like that last “i wonder” statement. It truly does make you think but i think we are all beautiful artists, some just show it more then others. peace.

Leave a Reply

