Eid Mubarak from the City that is Ground Zero

Dear Readers,

This short piece goes out to both all my readers, left and right wing, centrist, apolitical, whoever you are, I am writing to you.

The definition of “ground zero,” according to Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary, goes like this:
1.the point directly above, below, or at which a nuclear explosion occurs
2. the center or origin of rapid, intense, or violent activity or change
3. the very beginning

Let’s stick with # 3; the very beginning. I guess it’s on each of us to decide what 9/11 will be the beginning of. Right now, it’s looking like we got that decision made for us. I was just down in Houston and I heard one talk radio show, “The Muslims are even in our very own Congress!!” I don’t even have a name for the hate, its not just racism, and xenophobia don’t cut it either. Are we so afraid of choice? So afraid that we would rather hate on a worldwide kaleidoscope of people than admit to brotherhood and sisterhood? Maybe. Shit, I have a hard time with brotherhood and sisterhood too, in my very own home, so why wouldn’t I struggle with global unity? I wonder how many of you can relate.

Eid Mubarak from NYC,
where 9/11 is approaching.
Eid Mubarak from America,
where anti-Muslim sentiment reaches for fever pitch.
Eid Mubarak from a Hindu,
who knows that divide and conquer only works if we let it.
Eid Mubarak from a one in neither flood nor famine,
except of the spirit I’m trying not to die in.
Eid Mubarak from a woman whose head is now covered,
sometimes and by choice.
Eid Mubarak from a global citizen with a voice.

Love,
roopstar

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

