this post features bad ass comments from my readers on the film, for colored girls

dear readers,

first off, on the playlist for today’s hip hop yoga 2nd annual session, it’s at hunter college’s school of social work:

1. instrumental: rip aaliyah, one in a million
2. instrumental: we’ll always love big poppa biggie, ten crack commandments
3. instrumental: the one and only guru, mass appeal
4. instrumental: bob marley, is this love, tell us bob, is this love
5. instrumental: maxwell who’s hair cut marked an era change, pretty wings
6. instrumental: you get the pick. okay, okay, robin thicke.

and more. speaking of more, the film review i did of tyler perry’s adaptation of ntozake shange’s, for colored girls, is garnering quality comments, pitch perfect essays unto themselves. all by black women. i’m highlighting them in this post. lets go girls.

4 Responses to “film review: tyler perry’s adaptation of shange’s, “for colored girls who considered suicide when the rainbow is enuf””

COMMENT 1: Anonymous
November 8, 2010 at 8:19 pm

I just read your post about for colored girls and I loved it, of course! But I can’t see the Tyler Perry version of this film. “For colored girls” changed my life, made me proud to be a black girl. Shange gave me a community and reminded me that God exist in each and everyone of us. I use to sleep with this book under my pillow when I was 15. In ’92 I saw mass media hating on women of color like never before. What affected me was how Anita Hill was treated and viewed by society. I felt like as a young black woman I would never be able to be good enough. I mean look at the Yale law educated woman being racked over the coals and asked what did she do to deserve the way that Supreme Court nominee Clarence Thomas treated her. I felt disgusted and one day while at the library I stumbled across this book. Devoured it. Memorized it. Loved it and started to love myself in turn. Like you I was sexually abused and for the first time thought of actually forgiving him and letting ago of the anger. Side note: I did not actually forgive him until I was 27 yrs old, but the seed of forgiveness was planted. I found my collective of colored girls and knew that my experience was not an aberration.

I can’t do Tyler Perry’s version. I have watched most of his Medea films and although I laugh and have a good time with them I don’t believe he has the necessary depth to film “colored girls.” For colored girls made me a better student. had me fall in love with language and allowed me to write out my pain. who the hell knows what would have happened to this colored girl without shange? i would probably be a very tortured woman.

I love you, hermana and this love would not exist without “for colored girls.”

REPLY BY: politicalpoet
November 9, 2010 at 4:08 pm

you are speaking on that shit sis. you know what’s funny (because if it wasn’t funny, it would be too sad), i almost edited out the part where you reference my experience with sexual violence. even though i share about it in classrooms, in prisons, on stages, in these virtual pages, i still feel so protective of my pain. like octavia butler’s empaths, we may feel we need to hide, and what’s real is, sometimes, we do. the epidemic of violence is so 4realz. anyway, i gotta get my hands on a copy of the original broadway show of shange’s choreopoem, for colored girls who have considered suicide when the rainbow is enuf. enuf she says, enuf!! more later, thanks for the comment.

COMMENT #2: Sade
November 9, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Dear Readers, Dear Writer,

Go be viewers.
Watch it for yourselves with an open mind. If you’re brave enough, go see it by yourself. Or if you need a hand to hold, with another individual who has just an open eye as you are ready too.
I think, the toughest part about getting through the story is the heavy hitting relatability it has to so many women of brown tones in skin (it explains the laughter in the crowd.)
This is what what made me appreciate tyler a little bit more than with his other films. Sometimes, a story does need to be fed to the people; breaking down key elements and showing his viewers quite frankly, in the face, bluntly, what oh so many of us submerged in this community are often so apprehensive to see is good for us.

At the end of the day you have to see something, to know whether or not it was worth seeing.

Sincerely,
the out and proud queer black girl on the left of the prof cringing.

COMMENT #3: RellE.
November 9, 2010 at 6:22 am

Love your review but honestly Roop, all i can think is the fact the Perry is a Playwright and not a screen writer. As i watched the film tonight I was constantly reminded of the fact that he consistently lacks the ability to use the beauty and the art of film to his full advantage. On the stage, what you see is what you get. You, as the audience, can take the time to focus on the words, plot and blocking because youre not really blogged down by cinematographic screen shots and light filters and the understanding that a pale screen with one prominent color has an added significance to the characters presented. But thats just it, thats the wonder of the world of film. Feeling the personal experience of the people portrayed on the silver screen in a way thats personal, transcendent even. Like while watching Requiem For a Dream Im just as tripped out as they are. I can feel how high they are. The desperation for the next hit. The mother’s want to get back to what she was and her despair at the thought that she might not make the cut.

I was excited to see this movie even though I sometimes think of Perry as being as one note as M. Night Shyamalan. And in this case I wasnt too far off. It was a good movie in the sense that there were great actors that played their parts well. But good was insufficient for this work of art. There was no need to for a poemed monologue every 5-10 minutes, with a close up, and a tear. I wanted to be moved, jolted, thoughts provoked to the point of my own tears and reflection of self. But instead I got obvious plot twists with an overtly melodramatic story line with a little comedy thrown in to taste. I enjoyed the movie for what it was, a Tyler Perry Movie. And for some reason I was hoping for something a bit more riveting. My movie-mate said to me that Perry was simply appealing to his demographic, which might indeed be true. But thats moot to me. Im the demographic, Im the choir, but Im not the one that needs the message. This is the kind of thing that needs to have such a monumental impact that people who had no idea are touched to their core. The stories dont really speak specifically to only one race but the film, unfortunately, does.

Maybe “For Colored Girls”, like “The Hulk” can be done by someone who can give it more of a well deserved punch.

Please be patient for the comment replies! I love my readers. I’m so for real.

Stay tuned,
roopstar

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

